Don’t judge a book by it’s cover

…but I can’t help it!

I have only just discovered Penguins new hardback classics, designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith – where have I been!

So I have invested in these two beauts, Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights…. (not the prettiest of the bunch mind you, but great novels)

Penguin ClassicsThese are definite bookshelf-doublers. And not a dust jacket in sight.

Don’t pretend to not know what that means, we all have them – a tatty, well-read copy sitting under the coffee table, and a much prettier, not-to-be-read-or-touched copy of the same book on a ‘look at me’ shelf.

Well, mine have not been touched, and although I know they are crying out to be read, I can’t do it. Not yet. They are bookish models strutting up and down a catwalk, at least for now.

The two alone are already not enough for me (I think, as I swipe my tatty black penguin classics from a dusty shelf).
Should we judge a book by its cover? If these covers make me WANT  to read Crime and Punishment… then just maybe.
2 thoughts on “Don’t judge a book by it’s cover

Leave a Reply

