Penguin celebrates the 70th Anniversary of F.Scott Fitzgerald

A while back, I was raving about the new Penguin Classics hardbacks designed by the talented Coralie Bickford-Smith:

I invested in two of these beauties: Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights. Today, as I popped onto Amazon to buy The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (I’m caving in to the hype), I see these:

To celebrate the 70th Anniversary of F. Scott Fitzgeralds death, these beautiful Art-Deco inspired books will be released on 4th November.

Again designed by Coralie Bickford Smith, Senior Cover Designer at Penguin, the books incorporate a detachable bookmark on the inside cover of the dustjacket. In the past, I have pondered over the point of dustjackets, but these are… gorgeous! Each dustjacket has a gold, silver or bronze-foil design that echoes the magic of the Jazz-Age!

There are 6 in the collection: The Beautiful and Damned; Flapper and Philosophers: The Collected Short Stories of F Scott Fitzgerald; The Great Gatsby; The Last Tycoon; Tender is the Night; and This Side of Paradise.

On the inside of each dustjacket is a memorable quote from the book. I love this quote from The Great Gatsby, and I’ve already pre-ordered my copy!

You can pre-order and see the entire collection here. (great Christmas pressies! *hint, hint)

6 thoughts on “Penguin celebrates the 70th Anniversary of F.Scott Fitzgerald

  1. wow…these are gorgeous! i’m kind of relieved that i’m not in a place near any bookstores, otherwise i’d have a lot of trouble not snapping all of these up. (of course, there’s still amazon…)

    • Thanks for you’re comment Ellen :)
      I know, they are sort of irresistible. ALMOST too pretty to read!

      (You’re review of The Damned and Beautiful was really interesting by the way, I think I’m going to give it one more chance…)

  2. Those spines above are so yummy I could eat them :) This got me thinking… How many titles are from this set? I’m really tempted to get some.

    By the way, I really like your blog! :)

  3. Pingback: My Penguin: naked books! « Little Interpretations

  4. Pingback: Catalog Girl « Reagan Arthur Books Blog

Leave a Reply

