So, what’s been happening?

Dear readers,

I’m not prone to writing ‘filler’ posts but this is exactly that. I’m feeling increasingly conscious that I’ve been posting less regularly and although I’m sure no-one has really even noticed, I thought I better swing by to say “I’m still here!!”.

So, what’s been happening? I’ve been so busy with work (new job role, eugh), and having the cold, and writing, and doing this and that, that reading slowly slid down my  list of priorities (criminal, I know). I’m also on a bit of a come-down from World Book Night (anyone else? No… just me). I was SO busy with all the preparation and tweeting and blogging, that I’ve now landed with an almighty bump: what to blog about now!

But fear not. Tonight, I’m leaving work early, I’m going home, I’m walking the dog, (I’m maybe watching Greys Anatomy, shh) and then I’m sitting down to read! I’ve just about finished The Expelled by Samuel Beckett, the Penguin Mini Modern Classics version, and I’ve started reading Hemingway’s The Old Man and The Sea. Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse 5 arrived in the post today, which I’m reading for an article that I’m hoping to write, and so that’s up next!

Lots of blog-tastic stuff coming soon (*dramatic theatrical music, please*)

In the meantime, I was interviewed with Emily over at Eat the Books (fab blog!), as part of The Bookeater 10. You can find the interview here!

Thanks!

Marie

13 thoughts on “So, what’s been happening?

  1. I love Slaughterhouse 5! I’ve read it twice. “Listen. Billy Pilgrim has come unstuck in time.” I went through a big Vonnegut phase where I read tons of his books. Welcome back to the blogging world, we missed you!

  2. Thanks for the update – and yes I had noticed, but glad you are still there! Hope you are feeling better and enjoy the time to read tonight and Grey’s (totally my guilty pleasure, too)!
    Much love,
    B

  3. I was just wondering this morning when you were going to post. i’m glad, btw, that you don’t do filler posts. sometimes i catch myself doing them but i always feel kind of dirty afterwards.

  4. It’s always exciting to receive books in the post!

    I love Beckett! Is The Expelled one of his short stories/novellas? I have yet to discovered them as I have only read his Complete Dramatic Works.

    • I hope you receive on in the post soon! Remember to get in touch if it doesn’t arrive by the end of the week.

      The Expelled is one of his shorts, First Love is in there too. They’re brilliant – but it’s quite tricky to explain their brilliance. Currently reviewing The Expelled so will be up shortly!

      • Nothing yet :(

        I actually read “First Love” a few years ago, just before I went to see an adaptation by The Gare St Lazare company. It was great!

Leave a Reply

