The Scottish Book Awards 2011 Giveaway

To celebrate the 39th year of The Scottish Book Awards, hosted by Creative Scotland, I will be hosting a giveaway!

In the month of July, you will be given the chance to win all of the four titles shortlisted for this years award. Each of which exemplify Scottish literary excellence:

The Scottish Book Awards Creative Scotland 2011

  • Leila Aboulela, Lyrics Alley (fiction)
  • Jackie Kay, Red Dust Road (non-fiction)
  • Stewart Conn, The Breakfast Room (poetry)
  • Sue Peebles, The Death of Lomond Freil (first book)

The winner of the The Scottish Book Awards will have their book named Scottish Book of the Year, and the author will win a whopping £25,000. What’s more, for the first time in the history of the awards, you will be responsible for choosing a winner. The public vote will commence on the 16 May and end on 31 July 2011. So get voting here!!

‘This is a fantastic selection of books. Our aim is to encourage people to read, discuss and get involved with the shortlisted books. By including a public vote, we hope that people will feel inspired to read writers and books that are new to them.’ – Venu Dhupa, Director of Creative Development at Creative Scotland.

In the coming few weeks I will be reviewing each of the shortlisted titles. To be in with a chance of winning this superb collection of books, suscribe to Little Interpretations (if you havn’t already done so!) and be sure to leave a comment on one of the featured reviews (look for the logo at the top!) OR look out for a special tweet on Tuesday 12th July and reteet to enter.

You will then be entered into the draw, where your name will be ceremoniously (drum rolls et al) picked from a hat on Wednesday, 13th July (12pm, UK time).

Featured reviews (more to follow):

Following on from the success of World Book Night giveaway, I am happy to post worldwide.

Join me in celebrating Scottish literature!

11 thoughts on “The Scottish Book Awards 2011 Giveaway

  1. Fun! I didn’t know about the Scottish Book Awards and I don’t know these books. Terrible. At least the awards highlight some books that we otherwise not might have seen.

    Great idea for a giveaway!

  2. This seems like such a wonderful idea! I am an avid follower of The Scottish Book Awards. Being an aspiring author, I find it such an amazing set of awards. So prestigious, too! Oh, if only! Haha. I am always up for new reads. Enter me please, my lovely. I will comment on the reviews, too.

  3. Pingback: And the winner is… | Little Interpretations

  4. Pingback: The Scottish Book Awards 2011: The Breakfast Room by Stewart Conn | Little Interpretations

  5. I was just watching the programme on TV about the Comrie Book Club.

    I published my first book last year, but alas didn’t know that there were prizes or awards given to recently published books. Had I known I would have entered my book “The Glory Days of The Giant Scarborough Tunny” into various competitions.

    I know it sounds a bit self-deprecating, but my book was 400 pages and I feel the several reviews in magazines around the world (it has sold in Australia, New Zealand, Tasmania, America, Holland, Ireland, England, Scotland and Wales amongst other countries).

    The Reason I’m writing is that I feel as a Scotsman, my book is deserving of a critique by my fellow Scots up in Comrie.

    If you feel the same, please feel free to let them know about it.

    I’m currently listing it on eBay item no: 290613829763 where I’ve included a couple of recent reviews

    Its a very limited edition – all leather copies sold out, but there are a few of the 250 standard copies still available.

    I hope my letter is of interest to you and my fellow Scotsmen!

    Regards
    Mark Ross

Leave a Reply

