Back to blogging…

Like This!

You may (… or may not) have noticed that I’ve been gone for quite a while! It has been a weird and yet wonderful summer; some dramatic moments coupled with some life-affirming moments, which then resulted in plenty of happy moments. Between working and living, I haven’t managed to find much time for reading of late, and it’s been a couple of months since my last review. While perpetual reading is good book-blogging etiquette, I needed the break.

Happiness...

So, with summer over (at least here in Scotland) I’m making my return with the promise of some future reviews. Despite having a myriad of unread books on my shelf, I though I’d get back into the swing of things by treating myself to two newbies:

Breakfast of Champions - Kurt VonnegutBreakfast of Champions, Kurt Vonnegut

I read Slaughterhouse 5 a few months back, at a time in my life where I could take much meaning from it. As such, it has catapulted to the top of my most favourite books (right below Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying, which holds tight at number one). It is (very) slowly forming the basis for my next tattoo. I hope my high hopes for Breakfast of Champions aren’t dashed.

One Day, David Nicholls

So, apparently practically everyone has read this – well, not me. But, with the recent release of the feature film version featuring Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess, and with a little gentle persuasion from Twitter pal @kirsty44SUNSETS, I thought I’d give it a bash! I don’t particularly know much about the plot (criminal?) and the movie trailer looks pretty slushy, but it will make for a good ol’ book versus movie review, in any case…

So, to those reading this, thanks for hanging around! Let’s get Little Interpretations back on track

8 thoughts on “Back to blogging…

  1. I’ve still not read ‘One Day’ – this is going to sound incredibly teenage and reactionary, but the more people shove a book in my face and say ‘read it read it read it read it read it’, the more I don’t want to. I’m resisting; not sure how much longer I can last…

    • Haha – not at all – in fact, that sounds JUST like me. I had a similar experience with Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper (not normally my kinda thing), but I eventually read it AND… sort of enjoyed it.

      Hopefully, One Day will be just as surprising!

  2. HI, welcome back, Marie! So glad you loved Vonnegut, I gobbled up his books in high school. One of my faves is The Sirens of Titan (slow start, gets awesome). I’m curious if you’ve read The Hunger Game series? I think it’s a modern Vonnegut/George Orwell writing style, so I loved the first one, and have the next two in the pile to read. If you haven’t heard of it, check out my review of the first book I blogged last week. No spoilers, wouldn’t do that to my readers! ;)

    http://jesswords10.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/the-hunger-games-best-lack-of-sleep-you-ever-had/

    • Hi Jess – The Sirens of Titan, I’ll keep that one in mind. I wasn’t really sure where to go next after Slaughterhouse 5 and so I picked Breakfast of Champions at random.

      Thanks for The Hunger Game recommendation, it’s been added to the pile! Great introduction to the text on your blog!

      Thanks :)

  3. Welcome back, Marie! Hope those dramatic moments were not too dramatic and you are feeling great.

    By the way, I asked a teacher of mine for some Scottish classics and he said A Scots Quair is an incredible book. He also recommended me a contemporary novel called Beginning. What do you think? I’d also love to host a Scottish and Irish literature month/read-along because in English Literature Studies, Scotland and Ireland are ALWAYS forgotten. Shame on them!

Leave a Reply

